Book A Member Bat Flight

Bracken Cave is the summer home of more than 15 million Mexican free-tailed bats (Tadarida brasiliensis), making it the world's largest bat colony and one of the largest concentration of mammals on earth. The emergence of these millions of bats, as they spiral out of the cave at dusk for their nightly insect hunt, is an unforgettable sight.

To book a member bat flight, you must be a member of BCI. (see note at bottom of this page for more details). 

Three types of member events are being offered during the 2019 season:

- Evening Bat Flights are free for BCI members and their guests (as determined by your membership level.) Register Here

- Adult Evening Bat Flights are limited to members 18 years old or older. A $10 per person fee applies. Register Here

- Morning Flight Returns are early morning opportunities to see the bats return to roost. Register Here

2019 Schedule

Evening Bat Flights

May June July August September
Fri, May 17 FULL  
Wed, Jun 5 FULL Fri, Jul 5 FULL Fri, Aug 2 FULL Sun, Sept 1
Sat, May 18 FULL Thu, Jun 6 FULL Sun, Jul 7 FULL Mon, Aug 5 Tue, Sep 3
Fri, May 24 FULL 
Tue, Jun 11 Wed, Jul 10 Wed, Aug 7 Fri, Sep 6
Sat, May 25 FULL Wed, Jun 12 Thu, Jul 18 Thu, Aug 15 Mon, Sep 9
  Fri, Jun 14 FULL 
Sun, Jul 21 FULL Fri, Aug 16 FULL
Thu, Sep 12
  Mon, Jun 17 FULL Wed, Jul 24 Wed, Aug 21 Sat, Sep 14 FULL
  Thu, June 20 FULL Mon, Jul 29 Wed, Aug 28  
  Sun, Jun 23 FULL Tue, Jul 30    
  Wed, Jun 26      

 

Adult Evening Bat Flights:

June

July

 August

Fri, Jun 28

Sat, Jul 13 FULL

Sat, Aug 10

Fri, Jul 19

 

Morning Flight Returns

June July August
Sat, Jun 29 Sat, Jul 6 Sat, Aug 3
  Sat, Jul 20 Sat, Aug 17
  Sat, Jul 27  

 

QUESTIONS & CANCELLATIONS: For questions please check our Visitation FAQS. Have more questions? Contact This email address is being protected from spambots. You need JavaScript enabled to view it. . Please notify BCI 48-hours in advance at This email address is being protected from spambots. You need JavaScript enabled to view it. if you are unable to attend the date you reserved. 

Note:
- To attend one of the events listed above, you must be a current member of Bat Conservation International and use the access code emailed to you in April. 


- Lost your access code? Email This email address is being protected from spambots. You need JavaScript enabled to view it.

- Click here to join.  New members will receive their access code in their membership thank you email as well as the hard copy thank you letter. You will need this access code to register for a member event at Bracken Cave Preserve.

- You MUST bring a printed waiver (supplied by email after booking). ALL guests over 18 are required to fill out the waiver before the event.

 

Adult Evening Bat Flights:

June

July

Fri, Jun 28

Sat, Jul 13

Sat, Aug 10

Fri, Jul 19