General
Book A Member Bat Flight

Book A Member Bat Flight


Bracken Cave is the summer home of more than 15 million Mexican free-tailed bats (Tadarida brasiliensis), making it the world's largest bat colony and one of the largest concentration of mammals on earth. The emergence of these millions of bats, as they spiral out of the cave at dusk for their nightly insect hunt, is an unforgettable sight.

To book a member bat flight, you must be a member of BCI. (see note at bottom of this page for more details). 

Three types of member events are being offered during the 2019 season:

- Morning Flight Returns are early morning opportunities to see the bats return to roost. Register Here

- Evening Bat Flights are free for BCI members and their guests (as determined by your membership level.) Register Here Please note these evenings have filled to capacity for the 2019 season.

- Adult Evening Bat Flights are limited to members 18 years old or older. A $10 per person fee applies. Register Here Please note these evenings have filled to capacity for the 2019 season.

2019 Schedule

Morning Flight Returns

June July August
Sat, Jun 29 Sat, Jul 6 Sat, Aug 3
  Sat, Jul 20 Sat, Aug 17
  Sat, Jul 27  

 

Evening Bat Flights

May June July August September
Fri, May 17 FULL  
Wed, Jun 5 FULL Fri, Jul 5 FULL Fri, Aug 2 FULL
Sun, Sept 1 FULL
Sat, May 18 FULL Thu, Jun 6 CANCELED
Sun, Jul 7 FULL Mon, Aug 5 FULL Tue, Sep 3 FULL
Fri, May 24 FULL 
Tue, Jun 11 FULL
Wed, Jul 10 FULL
Wed, Aug 7 FULL Fri, Sep 6 FULL
Sat, May 25 FULL Wed, Jun 12 FULL Thu, Jul 18 FULL Thu, Aug 15 FULL
Mon, Sep 9 FULL
  Fri, Jun 14 FULL 
Sun, Jul 21 FULL Fri, Aug 16 FULL
Thu, Sep 12 FULL
  Mon, Jun 17 FULL Wed, Jul 24 FULL Wed, Aug 21 FULL
Sat, Sep 14 FULL
  Thu, June 20 FULL
Mon, Jul 29 FULL Wed, Aug 28 FULL  
  Sun, Jun 23 FULL Tue, Jul 30 FULL    
  Wed, Jun 26 FULL      

 

Adult Evening Bat Flights

June July August

Fri, Jun 28 FULL

Sat, Jul 13 FULL

Sat, Aug 10 FULL

Fri, Jul 19 FULL

 

QUESTIONS & CANCELLATIONS: For questions please check our Visitation FAQS. Have more questions? Contact This email address is being protected from spambots. You need JavaScript enabled to view it. . Please notify BCI 48-hours in advance at This email address is being protected from spambots. You need JavaScript enabled to view it. if you are unable to attend the date you reserved. 

Note:
- To attend one of the events listed above, you must be a current member of Bat Conservation International and use your member access code.  Access codes were emailed in April, or if you joined after April, your access code is provided in your new member materials.


- Lost your access code? Email This email address is being protected from spambots. You need JavaScript enabled to view it.

- Click here to join.  New members will receive their access code in their membership thank you email as well as the hard copy thank you letter. You will need this access code to register for a member event at Bracken Cave Preserve.

- You MUST bring a printed waiver (supplied by email after booking). ALL guests over 18 are required to fill out the waiver before the event.

 

Stay up to date with BCI

Sign up and receive timely bat updates

BCI relies on the support of our amazing members around the world.

Our mission is to conserve the world’s bats and their ecosystems to ensure a healthy planet.

Please join us or donate so our work can continue.